[trx_columns][trx_column_item][trx_title type=”2″ style=”underline”]FIFA, COSAFA, CAF[/trx_title][/trx_column_item][/trx_columns]

The Fédération Internationale de Football Association (FIFA) is an association governed by Swiss law founded in 1904, and based in Zurich. It has 211 member associations and its goal, enshrined in its Statutes, is the constant improvement of football.

FIFA’s primary objective is “to improve the game of football constantly and promote it globally in the light of its unifying, educational, cultural and humanitarian values, particularly through youth and development programmes.

It shares the success of the FIFA World Cup™ to support football development projects in its 211 member associations across the globe. Football has flourished as a global game because of this support.

FIFA’s goal is to touch, unite and inspire the world through its competitions and events.

[trx_button style=”border” size=”large” top=”large”]Visit Website[/trx_button][/trx_column_item][/trx_columns]

CAF is the governing body of African Football and was founded in 1957. The founding members are Egypt, Sudan, Ethiopia and South Africa. With a membership of 54 Member Associations, the secretariat is based Egypt. The wheels that led to the birth of CAF were actually set in motion outside Africa, in Lisbon Portugal in June 1956.

The Portuguese capital was playing host to the FIFA Congress, and it was the African nations in attendance (Egypt, Sudan, Ethiopia and South Africa) who carried the African confederation to the baptismal font by taking advantage of that gathering to discuss matters of common interest.

On 10 February, after CAF’s constitutive assembly, the Sudanese capital witnessed the birth of the first Africa Cup of Nations which was won by Egypt. It would prove to be the start of an exhilarating adventure and one that is continuing today with countless unforgettable moments along the way to help define the characteristics and traits associated with African football.

[trx_button style=”border” size=”large” top=”medium”]Visit Website[/trx_button][/trx_column_item][trx_column_item]
Cosafa Logo

The Council of Southern Africa Football Associations (COSAFA) was established by the Supreme Council of Sports in Africa – Zone 6 in 1997. It brings together 14 nations of Southern Africa under a single umbrella, with the goal of developing the game of football in African nations in the Southern Hemisphere. COSAFA headquarters are currently in Johannesburg, South Africa, after moving from Botswana in 2013.

COSAFA currently hosts six tournaments which include two women’s competitions. The association is operated under the auspices of recently elected president, Phillip Chiyangwa.

COSAFA Member Associations:

Angola, Botswana, Comoros Islands, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia, Zimbabwe

[trx_button style=”border” size=”large” top=”medium”]Visit Website[/trx_button][/trx_column_item][/trx_columns]


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password