2021 Cosafa Cup Format Revised after Madagascar Withdrawal

Defending champions Zambia have been placed in Group A of the Cosafa Cup following a late-minute shuffle of fixtures after Madagascar joined Comoros on the withdrawal list from the tournament.

Zambia had initially been in the same group with Malawi, Comoros and Madagascar but with the withdrawal of the duo the tournament format has been revised to a two-group format of five teams each.

Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic’s side will now face hosts South Africa, Botswana, Lesotho and Eswatini in Group A.

Group B has guest team Senegal, Namibia, Mozambique, Zimbabwe and Malawi.

With the revised format that guarantees more matches for the participating teams, top two teams in each pool with advance to the semifinals.

Zambia will open its account on Thursday at Isaac Wolfson Stadium against Lesotho before facing Eswatini two days later at the same venue.

On 13th July, the Chipolopolo will be up against Botswana before concluding their group fixtures against South Africa at the Nelson Mandela Bay a day later.

The fixtures for the opening day of the competition on Tuesday (today) remain the same and will see Eswatini face Lesotho at 14h00 at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium, and South Africa play Botswana at the same venue at 17h00.


Organizers of the tournament have announced that with the revision of the tournament that teams may use five substitutes in matches, though they must be brought on at only three separate points during the game.       This is in line with FIFA and CAF statutes that have been extended for use up until the end of 2022.

The Chipolopolo are expected in Port Elizabeth today and will be accommodated at Radisson Blu.





Leave a Comment


Welcome! Login in to your account

Remember me Lost your password?

Lost Password